The following resources are not just "web sites," but subscription databases. Most of these resources are limited to PBA students, faculty, and staff. [To use them off-campus, you will be required to identify yourself to the PBA Library Proxy Server.] Non-PBA users have access only at research computers in the library. There are a few exceptions: the SHELLS, Serials at PBA, and PBA Library Web Catalog databases are available to anyone.
You can learn about these databases by subject, or browse an alphabetical list. What follows is a brief introduction to each resource, based on information from the publishers. These descriptions are intended to help you select the one(s) which may be most beneficial for your needs, and to give basic information which may help you get started.
For further assistance, use the Help systems built into each database, and also feel free to contact the PBA Library Reference / Information Desk
.PBA Databases by Subject
Select a topic for a list
Arts and Humanities
Business and Management
Communication and Mass Media
Education and Psychology
Ministry and
Religion
Sciences and Medicine
Learn about other PBA Library Resources and Services
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
| ABI/INFORM |
| Business & Company Resource Center |
| Business Source Premier |
| JSTOR |
| LexisNexis Academic |
| LIVEDGAR |
| Regional Business News |
| Wall Street Journal |
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
| Communication & Mass Media Complete |
| Communication Institute for Online Scholarship |
| LexisNexis Academic |
| New York Times |
| Newspapers at PBA |
| Wall Street Journal |
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
| Education Journals |
| ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) |
| Medline |
| PsycARTICLES |
| PsycINFO |
| Psychology Journals |
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
| ATLA Religion Database |
| Christian Periodical Index |
| Philosopher’s Index |
| ProQuest Religion |
| Southern Baptist Periodical Index |
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
| BioOne |
| CINAHL Plus with Full Text |
| Pharmacy Databases |
| JSTOR |
| LexisNexis Academic |
| Medline |
| Science Direct College Edition |
Go to the PBA Databases by Subject
list
Go to top of page
Return
to library.pba.edu
Alphabetical List of PBA Databases
Learn about other PBA Library Resources and Services
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
ABI/INFORM - one of the world's first electronic databases, has been a premier source of business information for more than 30 years. (ABI originally stood for Abstracted Business Information.) The three related products described below offer citations, abstracts, and full text content to help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, coroprate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. It has expanded to include non-periodical content like:
EIU ViewsWire - Coverage of business and economic events from across the globe
Going Global Career Guides - Comprehensive overview for evaluating, selecting, and transitioning into a successful career in a foreign country
ProQuest Business Dissertations™ - Access to 10,000 full-text doctoral dissertations and master’s theses
Author Profiles from Scholar Universe - Broad range of author and institution information, with links to articles found in ProQuest
Another added resource is full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, with backfile coverage to 1984.
ABI/INFORM Complete i
s the primary database, with over 3,570 of which more than 2,620 have full text. Use this for a comprehensive search, as it includes the sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry. ABI/INFORM has a long-standing reputation for high-quality article abstracts, which make searching easier, and help you to decide if the article is appropriate for your purposes.ABI/INFORM Global is a subset, with 1,800 worldwide business periodicals, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. It provides fast, easy access to information on 60,000 companies, with coverage from 1971 forward.
ABI/INFORM Trade & IndustryTM— This subset covers more than 700 publications. It's designed to help researchers study and compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals, and many others. In fact, every major industry is represented, and all the publications are available in full text. Here's a small sampling of titles: Automotive News, Communications Today, International Construction, Modern Machine Shop, and Network World.
ABI/INFORM DatelineTM— This subset provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications. All articles are available in ASCII full text.
ABI/INFORM ArchiveTM— The editors of ABI/INFORM have been building deep business backfiles containing the complete, full-image runs of 100 titles, including Journal of Business Ethics, Sales and Marketing Management, and Journal of Marketing.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Academic Search Premier - EBSCO's flagship multi-discipline database containing indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. Of those, over 3,600 are peer-reviewed. It also offers PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for well over 100 scholarly journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles. Updated daily, the database includes many full-page images, some in color. Subject coverage includes social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
ATLA (ATLA Religion Database™ with ATLASerials™) - combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. It contains over 1.3 million citations and abstracts, in and related to the field of religion, from over 1,500 different journals (506 currently indexed) and over 15,000 multi-author books, as well as indexing for book reviews, as far back as 1949 and through the present. In addition to over 80 full text journals provided by the American Theological Library Association Serials project (ATLAS), this version links to over 185,000 full text articles and book reviews in other EBSCO-provided journals.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Biography Resource Center - Contains over 250,000 in-depth biographies from 135 of respected Gale Research premier print products, along with 300 full-text periodicals (updated daily), as well as images, links to related websites and Recent Update news briefs. Covers persons from antiquity to modern times.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
BioOne - Is the product of innovative collaboration between scientific societies ( including American Institute of Biological Sciences - AIBS), libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of 68 high-impact bioscience research journals, in most cases from the year 2000 forward. (Click here for title list.) Most of BioOne’s titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form. BioOne provides integrated, cost-effective access to a thoroughly linked information resource of interrelated journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Books in Print - Used by scholars, libraries, and book stores, Books in Print is the major source of information on books currently published in the U.S. The bibliographic data is supplemented by over 300,000 full-text book reviews. Search by subject, author, title, or keyword.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Business Source Premier - designed specifically for business schools and libraries, provides full text for more than 7,400 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Business Source Premier provides expanded indexing and abstract backfiles for the top scholarly business journals, dating back to 1965 or the first issue published (whichever is more recent). In some cases, indexing, abstracting, and PDF coverage actually goes back further than 1965; for example, Academy of Management Journal is available back to 1958, Accounting Review to 1926, Administrative Science Quarterly to 1956, California Management Review to 1958, Industrial & Labor Relations Review to 1947, Journal of Accounting Research to 1963, Journal of Finance to 1946, Journal of Marketing to 1936, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR) to 1964, Management Science to 1954, Operations Research to 1956, etc. More than 200 of the journals have PDF full text back to 1965 or the first issue published. Business Source Premier contains PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDF's are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color. This database is updated daily.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Business & Company Resource Center - offers accurate, up-to-date company and industry intelligence for more than 300,000 companies. Contains over ten million records of many types, ranging from 20-minute delayed stock quotes to detailed investment bank reports. Click for more information or a list of included journal titles.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Christian Periodical Index - currently indexes over 100 selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge including science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history , sociology, nursing, and education. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. The index covers most titles from 1982 to the present and is updated quarterly. It does include abstracts or full-text, but citations to articles include a link if the journal is freely available on the internet .
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - provides indexing for 3,001 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Using the EBSCOhost search interface, this package includes more than a million index records, dating back as far as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals are also included. Full Text includes more than 336 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Communication & Mass Media Complete - provides a robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected index/abstract coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). It uses the same powerful but easy-to-use interface as other EBSCOhost databases.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Communication Institute for Online Scholarship
- provides a host of electronic resources in areas of study related to human communication, (e.g., mass
media, speech, rhetoric, journalism, communication studies, etc.). Because Palm
Beach Atlantic University is an Institutional Affiliate of CIOS, you have access to
materials not available to the general public. Major
components described below include: ComAbstracts, ComIndex, ComWeb MegaSearch
and full-text journals. A resource library, electronic White Pages, and
numerous other materials for communication students and
professionals are also available, so be sure to explore the CIOS web site
thoroughly.
ComAbstracts - this database provides full
text search and retrieval of 12,000 of abstracts from articles appearing in the
professional literature. It is available through the CIOS web service.
ComIndex - is an electronic index of more than 36,500 bibliographic references from 78
major journals in communication studies, rhetoric, journalism, mass
communication, and speech. It is not delivered via the web, but may be
searched at computers in the PBA library. Updated annually, it goes back
to the initiation of each journal or at least to 1970.
ComWeb MegaSearch - is an index to more
than 20,000 communication related web pages at 230 communication web sites.
Full-text Journals - The CIOS web
service also provides access to the Electronic Journal of Communication, a
full text, peer reviewed quarterly journal of original scholarship in
communication, and provides access to back issues of the International
Journal of Listening and the Journal of Communication and Religion.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
FirstSearch - PBA offers access to a group of 11 databases provided by the State Library of Florida. These powerful research resources include: ArticleFirst, ERIC, MedLine, NetFirst, World Almanac, and WorldCat.
ArticleFirst - This database describes items listed on the table of contents pages of individual issues of nearly 13,000 journals, covering a broad range of subject areas. Each record describes one article, news story, letter, or other item from a journal. Most records provide a list of libraries that hold the journal title. Covers January 1990 to the present for most journals; covers July 1992 or January 1994 to the present for some journals. New records are added daily.
FloridaCat - A catalog of books, periodicals, and other materials in Florida libraries.
MedLine - Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more. Indexes over 9,500 journals (most with abstracts). Updated daily, the file now includes over twelve million records, with backfile coverage from 1965. Corresponds to the print indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
WorldAlmanac - Includes the full text of Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four Almanac titles: The World Almanac and Book of Facts, providing key facts on a wide variety of subjects internationally; The World Almanac of the U.S.A. with essential facts about the United States— current and historical; The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, a guidebook to federal, state, and local governments; and The World Almanac for Kids, covering information and facts of interest to middle-school children and teachers. Content is from Primedia Reference, Inc. and is updated annually.
WorldCat - The online union catalog of more than 50 million records describing items owned by the PBA library and thousands of other libraries around the world.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
JSTOR The
Scholarly Journal Archive - of back issues of core journals in various fields.
As opposed to most electronic journal services which contain only the last few
years, JSTOR contains the entire runs of these journals, from the first volume
up to the volumes published only a few years ago. JSTOR deliberately does not
have the most recent volumes of the journals in order to protect the publishers
current revenues. Each journal has a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the
current issues are added to JSTOR. Collections available at PBA are
described below.
Arts & Sciences I - includes the complete back runs of 117 titles in 15 disciplines. It includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Title List
Arts & Sciences II - is home to 122 titles. This collection adds depth to many disciplines introduced in Arts & Sciences I, such as economics, history, and Asian studies. Arts & Sciences II also offers core journals in several new disciplines, such as archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. Title List
Ecology & Botany - contains 29 titles in two important fields within the life sciences. Founded with the assistance of the Ecological Society of America, it contains this society's premier research journals alongside a range of titles broadly focused on ecosystems. Topics covered by the ecology journals are wide-ranging, from biodiversity and climate change, to conservation and experimental biology. The botany titles-- including the oldest botanical journal in the Americas--encompass a range of subjects such as plant biology, systematic botany, and taxonomy. Title List
General Science - contains 7 titles. These titles include several of the most important historical scientific journals published: Science, PNAS, and the publications of the Royal Society of London. The material included in this archive reaches back to the 17th century and in total covers more than 800 journal years. Title List
Language & Literature - The 57 titles in this collection span the literary cultures of many different countries, and contain articles in several languages, including Arabic, Italian, and German. Developed with the help of the Modern Language Association, this collection includes PMLA and a range of core journals in the diverse fields of literary criticism that have emerged in the last 30 years. Title List
Music - This collection contains the complete back runs of 32 titles dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music. International in scope, it includes journals published in the Netherlands, Croatia, Hungary, Germany and France. Title List
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
LEXISNEXIS Academic - provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including:
Many flexible search options meet the needs of beginning, intermediate, and advanced users. Campus-wide access is available directly from the desktop. (Click here for source lists.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Literature Resource Center - Provides direct access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists and other writers. Contains *Contemporary Authors, *Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Encyclopedia of Literature and selections from *Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, *Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, among several others. It also includes dictionaries, full text periodicals (click here for journal title list) and links to 5,000 related Web sites. (*Please note the PBA Library has complete, up-to-date, book-format subscriptions to these series in the Reference area.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
LIVEDGAR - Because publicly held companies file electronically with the Securities & Exchange Commission in the EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis & Retrieval) system, the best information sources are often online, such as LIVEDGAR. It is a powerful research platform for securities research, with over a million unique data points, including SEC filings dating back to 1967 to over 188,000 Annual Reports to Shareholders, and a Mergers & Acquisitions database containing filings for deals of $1 million and more for public and private, U.S. and non-U.S. companies. With LIVEDGAR, users can perform online securities research and obtain source documents.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
MLA International Bibliography - provides some one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide in the areas of folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature. Covering 1963 to the present, it indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Each record contains a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or similar item. It is produced by the Modern Language Association of America (MLA). The version used at PBA is provided by EBSCOhost, and connected with the 3,450 full text journals in our Academic Search Premier subscription, allowing easy access to any relevant articles found there.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
netLibrary
- The PBA Library has purchased access to over 45,000 electronic books (eBooks) from netLibrary,
Inc., of Boulder, Colorado. The eBooks in this collection were acquired to meet
the needs of our end users, and come from a broad range of disciplines and
subject areas. In addition, when you search the collection, you'll note an
option for publicly accessible eBooks — classic works of literature and history.
After creating an account, you can search, scan, and read using your web
browser. For more information, go to the eBooks
Welcome page or use the links below..
![]()
![]()
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
OED Online - The Oxford English Dictionary is the most comprehensive dictionary of English. As a dictionary "on historical principles," it is intended to display in a historically ordered form the changes, including growth and shrinkage, of the meanings of all the non-technical Standard English vocabulary from early Middle English to the present day. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). The OED is currently being revised, with the aim of producing a completely updated third edition by the year 2010. Draft material from the revision programme will also be published online, representing the latest progress towards the new edition. More revised and new entries will be added to the online Dictionary every quarter. (Click here for more information.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Pharmacy Databases - Complete information about online pharmacy resources is available on the Drug Information Center website of the Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Philosophers Index - A bibliographic database with informative author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Over 296,000 records cite articles from nearly 570 journals, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Topics covered include: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. Quarterly updates add over 14,000 new records annually.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Project MUSE -
offers over 300 quality journal titles from 60 scholarly publishers. As one of
the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE
covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and
performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies,
economics, and many others. In contrast to JSTOR, which focuses on older
iissues, Project MUSE provides current content, often earlier than the print
edition, with a limited selection of backfiles. (Coverage for selected
Project MUSE titles now begins with volumes as early as 1993.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
ProQuest - This service offers a family of databases using a powerful, but easy-to-use search package. For many topics you will find enough full-text articles to meet your need without going anywhere else. For comprehensive research, this is an excellent starting point. The PBA ProQuest subscriptions include Research Library, ABI-INFORM, Education Periodicals, ProQuest NewsStand, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Psychology Journals, and ProQuest Religion.
Accessing ProQuest - If you are using an on campus computer OR are dialing PBA as your internet service, you may be asked to login the first time you use ProQuest. If so, respond with the username "ipauto" and the password "ipauto". If you use a different service provider at your office or home, such as AOL, this username and password will not work. Instead, follow the instructions for Off-Campus Library Use.
Research Library - Because this database covers a wide variety of subject areas, it is an excellent starting point for many projects, offering researchers comprehensive abstracting and indexing of articles from more than 2,300 periodicals. You get complete bibliographic information, plus informative abstracts, and in addition, full text articles are available for over 1,400 of those titles. Normally you would select "Core and All Modules" to search this file. If you wish to limit your search, check the module(s) that fit your topic. For example, to search major academic journals, select "Research Library--Peer Review."
ABI-INFORM Complete - Provides in-depth coverage of business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, and a wide variety of other topics. It gives you informative indexing and substantive abstracts to articles from more than 1,750 leading business and management publications, including over 350 English-language titles from outside the U.S. You'll get complete full text articles from more than 1,000 of the most popular and important sources.
Education Journals - Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field with articles in full-text and/or image formats. ProQuest Education Journals offers complete text and images from such journals as Childhood Education, College Teaching, Harvard Educational Review, Journal of Athletic Training, Educational Theory , and Urban Education. The database covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ERIC - A guide to published and unpublished sources of educational materials produced by the Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse, ERIC contains more than 983,000 annotated references, from 1966 to the present, and is updated monthly. It has two types of entries: abstracts of journal articles, and summaries of non-journal documents issued by the ERIC. In addition to ERIC-supplied full text documents, this version includes links to journal articles included in our ProQuest subscriptions. Though it uses the ProQuest interface, it is a separate database, and cannot be cross searched with other ProQuest databases. Hint: In many cases, you will want to search both ERIC and the general ProQuest databases.
Psychology Journals - supplements the main ProQuest package with articles from over 400 top psychology and related publications. Coverage dates back to 1987 for some titles, though others were added more recently. This package is linked with PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES.
Religion - The Proquest Religion database is an excellent source of religious news and commentary, details on doctrines and philosophies, and reports on religious history and related archeology. ProQuest Religion also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. It includes indexing and abatracts for over 90 titles, with full text from 72 periodicals, of which 36 that are peer reviewed scholarly journals. To search just this database, click the "Databases selected:" link near the top of the ProQuest search screen, clear all databases, scroll down and place a check in the box for Religion; then click the Continue button.
ProQuest Newspapers:
NewsStand -
ProQuest Newsstand provides comprehensive coverage of current events, including
full text from 286 newspapers! Aggregating it together makes research easier,
and most of this material is not available for free on the internet. Among the
major titles in this subscription are Barron's,
the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, USA
TODAY and Washington Post. It also includes selected articles from the Palm Beach Post.
New York Times -
ProQuest NYT covers international, national, and New York regional news and business as
well as science, medicine, arts, sports, and lifestyle news, and includes the New York
Times Book Review and Magazine. Contains the full text of all articles for the most recent
ninety (90) days. (Older issues, back to 1991, are on CDROM, available on the campus
network. Click here for more
information. And 1978-1990 is available in the library on microfilm.)
Wall Street Journal
- the financial newspaper of record. It offers in-depth coverage of national and
international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. From 1984 to
date, you'll find the full text of every article excluding stock tables and other free
standing tabular material. (Also, 1980-1984 is available in the library on microfilm.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
PsycARTICLES - a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. It contains all the material (with the exception of ads and editorial board lists) from nearly 50 top psychology publications, covering a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology. Backfiles go back to 1987 on some titles, others are newer. The database is updated daily; and new articles are typically available about a week after the print issue is mailed. As of April 2004, the database contained over 34,000 articles. The version to which PBA subscribes is provided by EBSCO, and can be searched simultaneously with PsycINFO. Links to journals in other databases are also provided, for a rich, easy-to-use package.
.Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
PsycINFO -
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides
bibliographic citations and abstracts for articles drawn from over 1,900 journals,
plus dissertations, technical reports, books, and book chapters published worldwide
from 1872 to the present. The database has over 2 million records, and is
updated weekly. The database covers a wide
range of topics, including psychology, psychiatry, and related information from
the fields of education, business, medicine, nursing, law, and social work.
the version to which PBA subscribes is provided by EBSCO, and uses the same
interface. It
can also be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES. Links to journals in other
databases are also provided, for a rich, easy-to-use package.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Regional Business News - Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. It can be searched with other EBSCOhost products by selecting it on the "Choose Databases" screen.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale), contains over 200,000 items, dating from 1969 to the present, and is updated monthly, covering all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. They also include various other fields as they relate to music, including librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics. The version used at PBA is provided by EBSCOhost, and connected with the 3,450 full text journals in our EBSCO Academic Search Premier subscription, allowing easy access to any relevant articles found there.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
College Edition - Life and Health
Sciences Journals Collection offers over 900 peer-reviewed full-text journals,
from 2002 to the current issue. A Quick Search form is available on every screen, and a Search tab offers
more sophisticated search options. Browsing by subject or journal title is
also available. Articles can be viewed on the screen, emailed, printed, or
saved. Extensive personalization features allow users to customize
the home page, set up alerts, save searches and create quick links to
frequently-used resources within Science Direct and on the web.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Serials at PBA - An online database, hosted by EBSCO, that provides comprehensive information about all periodicals held by the PBA Library. Input a title, or key words from a title, and you can see if we have a subscription. If so, you will be shown the format (online, paper, microfiche, etc.) and the dates of coverage. You can also select a topic and see our titles in that subject area. For online title, if you have a citation, you can directly access the content without exiting and launching a separate search. Serials at PBA is updated monthly.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Southern Baptist Periodical Index - The SBPI is a cumulative cover-to-cover index to around 50 periodicals issued each year by historically Southern Baptist Convention-related agencies, institutions, and associations at the national level of organization. Subject coverage ranges widely but includes theology, Baptist history and practice, worship, church music, church administration and development, religious education and ministry, Baptist colleges/universities/seminaries, missions and missions education, family life and parenting, and Christian life. Indexed periodicals include reviews of books, motion pictures and videos, compact discs, web sites, etc., ranging from the scholarly to the popular.
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
Voyager - PBA's electronic catalog is the key to the 120,000 plus volumes in the PBA Library, and now it is available on the web. WebVoyáge provides information about all the books and media held in the library collection. You will not be able to access full text of 'regular' books, but some records have tables of contents and/or links to related web sites. New features of this system continue to be added. For example, you are now able to login and check your library 'account' or renew a book. Also, records describing our electronic books (eBooks) are loaded, but only some of our magazines and journals, whether paper, electronic, or microform, have been added to the Voyager database. (Use the Serials at PBA search, FloridaCat, or WorldCat to check periodical holdings.)
Go to top
Return
to library.pba.edu
xreferplus - is a giant online reference library that provides you with access to 150 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, not to mention a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. Offering access to over 1 million individual entries, xrefer's unique technology generates a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere within the collection. Click here for a list.